Dissertation Project: The Learning difficulties of my Project

Going through my project I have encountered several problems not only to do with small bugs or understanding Design choices. But it’s my lack of knowing what the “Optimal Code” would be to make a Rhythmic-RPG game.

For example, the current system I have created involves Array lists in the code. These can be edited on the side in Unity, both the Size of the Array list and how often the spawn chucks out a note. Which works, mostly at the very least. Array lsit pic

The problem is that it takes a lot of time for very little time in Game play, I can obviously cut down the music time (Which I plan to do as the current time frame for the song is more than 5 minutes and will need to be shorter with a fadeout at the end so it can be playable).

I feel like if I knew the optimal code it all could be easier, but then again I’m still new to code in general so I suppose I have to give myself some credit. Although it’s been clear for a while that the Project will most likely NOT be anywhere finished to the point I first wanted.

BUT HOWEVER, this isn’t a “I DON’T KNOW WHAT I’M DOING SO I QUIT” posts.
Things aren’t going well, but I’m currently not giving up in the project, things might have to be cut and I don’t think there will be a ton of polish done but I will continue to get as much as I can. Even if it’s more of a Demo of the idea I had.

Leave a Reply

